Top Knit Picks for Spring/Summer 2012

Taking it easy on sewing lately due to baby care.  Though I am sorely tempted to try out those pattern sales, I do feel that I have enough patterns at home and that I should withstand the temptation to purchase some patterns that I might not have time to make.

So here are the picks from the pattern stash. 

Simplicity 3790

I have made both the surplice and the yoked top before.  Here is the review of the surplice which I have decided looks deplorable on me no matter how well fitted.  But the little swingy top flatters me and I still have my wearable muslin which I have worn to bits.

Simplicity 2283

And I have made the vest of this pattern but not the tops.  Definitely sewing the vest again.  I looked for my previous review but could not find it.  The top looks cute but I wonder how much time it will take.

There they are.  Unusual for me to only have two patterns in the offing but it is kind of refreshing to have just a few designs to focus on.  As Sister from Dr. Fun Living la vida loca commented on my last post, the anticipation is half the fun. 

Now I can enjoy rooting through the fabric stash and see what can be found there. 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sister
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 23:51:20

    That’s the spirit! I wanted to go to Hancock’s SO BAD, but I have so many patterns and fabrics I haven’t touched yet that I’m forcing myself to use what I have. I love that first pattern, even if your surplice didn’t turn out like you wanted. (What the heck is a surplice, anyway?) Thanks for the shout-out, by the way. You know, sometimes I just like browsing at PR and loading up my Wish List – saves a lot of money and gas…

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Feb 17, 2012 @ 12:32:33

      The surplice is the crossover top on the pattern envelope. It is one of those designs everyone is supposed to look good in – except me. The word surplice comes from some medieval garment, I think, so you are right, why would I want to make one of those anyway? 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

