Made a List: Spring/Summer 2012

Made a list.

It was the accomplishment of the day.

As I am slowly losing my pregnancy pounds, I have been confounded about where I put my old jeans.  Looking for a place to stash other things I found the old jeans and a bunch of summer stuff.  

A pile of jeans awaiting reduced circumstances. As my pregnancy grew I kept buying jeans in increasing sizes and kept them for the postpartum trip back down to pre-pregnancy weight.

Dumped all of the stuff on the bed, laid the baby in the middle so he could mangle sleeves and topple piles, then tried on most of the clothes.

Dumping dumpy.

I don’t know why I keep the unflattering and/or faded.  Well, I guess I do know why. Growing up on a farm, we always had “work clothes”, which meant faded, torn, stained and usually ugly.   Except I live in the residential part of a city.  My current gardening demands a few old remnants, but certainly not a closetful.   Old habits die hard.

Making a list sounds a bit persnickety, but I have little time to sew and I must focus on real needs.  The list clarified that I have a lot more great summer stuff than I imagined.  And the gaps were also very clear.  All of my casual knit tanks are very grubby.

Right now I am entertaining my creative impulses by scavenging my pattern boxes for easy knit tops.  Working up just one or two designs may be the way to go.

When I find the right patterns I will have to come up with plan to sew . . .

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sister
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 20:09:52

    Ooh, but that’s fun to go through patterns and pick something to work on when you get the time – it builds the anticipation!

    Reply

  2. Tanit-Isis
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 19:41:43

    Knit tops sound perfect for the situation and problem! I have the same issue with old jeans. Made worse by the fact that I keep thinking I’ll do something crafty and creative with all that salvageable denim…

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Feb 14, 2012 @ 10:36:23

      Now I don’t want to add to your list – I know all about the creayive backload. In high school I took my old jeans and braided them for rug. I had this huge ball of braided strips – then I threw it away! Teenagers can be so flighty.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

