Taking Advice: How do you sew with a baby?

Since the birth of my son I have gotten back on my feet in a lot of ways, but sewing is still difficult to combine with babycare.

Any ideas on how I can get back my sewing groove, even in a small way, and keep baby happy?

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TanitIsis
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 13:19:20

    Oof! I wish I had a solution. 😦 I didn’t sew anying for a year after my first was born. For the second… Well, I know I worked on little bits off and on, usually stuff with a lot of handwork that I could pick up and out down and stuff somewhere safe. How are you doing for sleeping? My kids never went to bed before I did (until they were older) but after bedtime seems to work for a lot of people. Or during naps. πŸ˜›

    And patience, lots of patience. 😦

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Jan 26, 2012 @ 16:42:05

      I am getting enough sleep to get through my day in good spirits, but not so much that I am free from mommy-brain. You know those moments of mental oblivion where I forget my own middle name. My Hello Kitty sewing machine is a delight, but its motor is rather loud, and my house being so small, it wakes the baby up, and would annoy my daughter and husband if I tried to sew in the middle of the night. You’re right, patience may be my best alternative.

      Reply

  2. Vicki
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 18:46:26

    We’ve all been there. Patience is the answer. I also did more knitting rather than sewing just so I was doing something creative and for me. Maybe there is something else you can do just for the moment. Just a thought.

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Jan 27, 2012 @ 11:47:51

      Good thoughts. I have this small book of knitting pattern which I see daily sitting on my bedroom chest of drawers. How about some washcloths? You know little squares with different patterns.

      Reply

  3. Elaray
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 19:20:38

    I remember when my 22 yr old daughter was an infant. I had visions of me sewing while she played happily in her playpen. Never. Happened. I wish I had something to tell you. I just sewed less than I wanted to. I made outfits for her and they were easier and faster. I still felt like I was finishing something.

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Jan 27, 2012 @ 11:51:10

      Baby outfits. You know the seamlines are so much shorter and the styles basic. A good option for current circumstances.

      Reply

  4. Sister
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 23:05:43

    Yep, that machine is loud. Start leaving a TV on or something to get them used to white noise! But honestly, I didn’t sew with any babies.

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Jan 27, 2012 @ 11:53:05

      You gave me an idea! Maybe one of those Baby Einstein videos during sewing time. I seen babies totally entranced with those. πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. Tee
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 10:24:41

    Nope, me either. Had two toddlers and didn’t sew much at all. I think I got back into it when they were 4 & 6 years old. Sewed a lot at night when they were sleep. LOL that seems so long ago, they are 28 & 30 now, wow time flies when you’re having fun!

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Jan 27, 2012 @ 11:54:45

      The baby breastfeeds so he won’t go down to sleep with my husband. Bummer, then I could put them both to bed and go sew! πŸ™‚

      Reply

  6. Clio
    Jan 28, 2012 @ 19:12:34

    I don’t have kids, but when I have lots of other demands on my time, I try to do one small thing daily – sewing one seam, a little pinning, cutting out a pattern, a little hand sewing. I try to do something that is a small, but measurable amount to get done. I also knit. Right now I’m working on socks, which come along quickly because they are small. So, again, measurable progress.

    Good luck!

    Reply

  7. Calico Stretch
    Jan 29, 2012 @ 23:11:23

    I agree with Clio, doing one small thing at a time and take the pressure off yourself to finish. My kids are now five and sometimes I still work like that. Today for example I had 20 minutes so re-threaded the serger and did a tension test run. That’s it. I’ll do some actual sewing tonight, if I get time.

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Jan 31, 2012 @ 15:07:03

      Thinking of your suggestion of small bytes of time, that’s exactly how I should tackle cleaning up the sewing area which has gotten buried in the past few months.

      Reply

  8. TracyKM
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 09:50:40

    I wouldn’t really try anything before babe settles into a fairly predictable sleep pattern around 4 months (usually), and you’re almost there! Then I’d try during nap time. If you think the machine is too loud, perhaps a white noise machine in baby’s room would cover the sound. Around this time, 4 months, baby seems to come out of the newborn daze and starts to gets interested in the rest of the world, so it can be easier to put them in a bouncy seat or exersaucer type gizmo.
    The other option for when you really have to sew, is to babywear. You can wear baby on your back–depending on the carrier, some women start right at birth. Most women are more comfortable once baby has head control before trying a back carry. A tummy to tummy position is also do-able with sewing, but a bit more awkward. With baby in a high back carry, he can see what you’re doing and be entertained too!

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Feb 09, 2012 @ 13:13:08

      I wish I could master the high back carry. It sounds so useful. I’ve barely mastered the front carry. Maybe I should keep working with the sling.

      Reply

  9. twinklingnorthstar
    Feb 13, 2012 @ 06:48:59

    You know, I am grappling with the same issue! My little one is almost four months old and I had visions of me swanning around in lots of newly made clothes for the many special events that arise within a baby’s first year (ie. we have the christening this weekend and I bought a dress rather than making one.. tut tut)! I also thought I would make tons of baby clothes, but combined with a little sleep deprivation, I was making the most silly mistakes!
    I think you’re doing great to be blogging! That is an accomplishment in itself!

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Feb 13, 2012 @ 09:53:30

      Thank you for the encouragement. πŸ™‚ Baby clothes are so cute and I would love to make them, but I am beginning to think I will be making such items for my grandchildren, as I have no time now. πŸ˜‰

      Reply

Leave a Reply

