Crazy Ugly Dog Blankets

A basket of sheeting scraps from practice muslins and one of those stiff fleece blankets from the 80's.

Sometimes I like a bit of what I call “unskilled sewing.”   At least it looks unskilled when I do it.

Right now I can’t imagine getting involved in a detailed project as I am constantly interrupted by the baby.  But I want to sew. 

Rooting through my stuff I found this basket of scraps from my practice muslins.  Often I make random household stuff out of this material and after seeing the dog shivering in her bin once winter set in, I decided to do some dog blankets.

Now let me tell you – my dog chews.  A bad habit.  But in this instance very freeing for me.

Combining some of Eleanor Burns’ Log Cabin quilt technique  with  the “Quilt as You Go” method and adding in some Paper Piecing ideas I came up with these truly crazy ugly dog blankets.

One Crazy Ugly Dog Blanket. Now there are several more where this came from and I have a tidy little pile of blankets for the dog's delight.

Totally freeform sewing.  Whatever fabric piece I reach for first is the one I use.  Not bothering to match thread, I use up my spare bobbins and leftover thread spools. If I get the seam right, wonderful, if not, so be it.  If the batting is a parallelogram rather than a rectangle, I don’t bother squaring the angles.

My dog enjoys adding some cotton fiber to her diet.

The goal – nothing wasted.  The attitude – who cares what it looks like.  The caveat – the dog may chew it anyway.

Hakuna Matata sewing – no worries.  It has been a lot of fun.  Stuff that was once only clutter around my house has been brought into use.   The blankets are admittedly ugly, but the dog has already begun her chewing.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sister
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 22:45:17

    That is totally green sewing! Gives me an idea for my scraps.

    Reply

  2. Clio
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 16:34:46

    Sometimes it’s therapeutic just to hear the hum of your sewing machine! Mikhaela over at Polkadotoverload.com was also musing about fitting sewing in around baby today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

