The No-Sew Nighttime Nursing Bra

First let me thank everyone for their kind words and wishes during my pregnancy and for celebrating with me upon the birth of my son.  It meant a lot to me to read those comments during the past several weeks. 

Bless you all! 🙂

Busy with baby, now I keep looking longingly at my machine but I haven’t much time to sew. However I do have one tiny clothing project, a refashioning project actually.

This is my first post-partum sewing project.  A no-sew project really.

I thought a soft and clingy A-tee would work nicely.

I was looking for something soft and comfortable to wear under my nightgown as early nursing can be a sensitive business.  I grabbed some men’s tee’s from the store, the type while growing up we used to call wifebeaters, not a pretty name but we did not think anything of it at the time, pre-PC and all.  The manufacturers obviously object to that name and call them A-tees I think.  The draw for me was that they fit close to the body and were very cheap.

Guestimate and cut. I had to cut off the bottom because men's hips being so slender, there was no way I was going to get the hem to fit my post-partum hips.

I have kept the bottom cut-off portion to use as ribbing in future knit projects.  Otherwise the shirts are disposable and I will warn you as you continue nursing, your breast size will increase, and you will have to keep cutting a new shirt allowing for more space at the top.  Also, any leaking goes right through and you may find yourself changing up a few times a night.  Not a long term solution, but it got me through the early days when I was most tender.

Here it is in two parts. The bottom I am squirreling away for ribbing in future knit projects. The top portion is probably going to be so used up and worn that I recycle it as a dusting cloth.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tanit-Isis
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 13:00:06

    We called these the same thing, although when a girl wore one we called it a boy-beater instead. 😉 Just to be fair.

    I slept on a towel for the first several months, as I recall. My breasts didn’t get bigger after about day 3 (when I looked like something out of an anime cartoon), but the leaking lasted for ages. 😛

    Hang in there. Those first few months are so exhausting, and there’s no way out but through. Take what time you can (a few minutes, a few hours) when you can, and don’t stress about anything not absolutely essential. Although I was much more “together” with the second baby, it was still about four times more work than just managing the first. We’ll still be here when you have time to sew (and blog!) again…

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Dec 07, 2011 @ 18:23:04

      I was starting to feel a bit guilty and behindhand on my blogging and sewing. Thank you for your reassurance! You are right, it will all still be here come time…

      Reply

  2. Calico Stretch
    Dec 12, 2011 @ 05:18:50

    Guilty about being behind on your blogging? Hey girl, don’t be silly cos we completely understand that your new wee one is taking up loads of time and energy. Hell, I remember what it was like too. You are a legend to think about blogging let along posting anything.

    Wish I had thought of the T thingy when my two were tiny. I slept on a towel too for at least a couple of month (feeding twins called for a big supply let me tell you!).

    We’re still here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

