Baby Yarp Season: Building a Nursing Wardrobe

Breastfed babies DO puke, despite what authorities say.  I remember being puked upon a lot, and often smelling generally milky.  At the time I did not think much about gathering clothing that would hide baby stains.  I wasn’t sewing as much or as well then, and I did not have much money to buy even secondhand clothes.  I remember feeling very frumpy.

This time around I want to do better so I have given it some thought.  Like I mentioned last post I am going to branch out style-wise and do the unstructured, layered look.  Adding and subtracting clothing on a per-stain basis should be easier that way. 

Normally I am attracted to wovens, but I am going to concentrate on knits for a season, as they are quicker to sew, don’t need fancy seam finishes, and if unstructured, can be easily taken in as my waistline, hopefully!, decreases.

My next thought was color – what colors best repel or hide stains.  Not just puke stains.  As the baby grows and feeding solids begins, he will have his hands in strained peas and peaches and then want to love on me, adorning my clothes with permanent orange, green and brown marks.

Thinking through the fabric/color issue while waiting on my second glucose test at the OB/Gyn’s,  I decided to build my wardrobe around darker knits in solids or flowy/busy prints.  Taking a cue from a recent post by Stephanie of 3 Hours Past the Edge I got onto the website colourlovers.com and created a small basic palette.

Navy, burgundy, forest green, grey and purple in various prints and solids.

Not fancy but I think it will do for the upcoming season of baby yarp and food fights. 

Any other suggestions for baby friendly fabric or color options?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tanit-Isis
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 10:11:58

    Not all breastfed babies yarp—although mine certainly did, like crazy. I honestly don’t remember worrying much about getting it on me, though. And that milk-smell. Oh, yes. (Infinitely better than formula-fed-baby-poop-smell, however.)

    Hmm, you might want to add a mustard yellow in there to coordinate with the poop-stains, though ;).

    Reply

  2. Sewista Fashionista
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 13:07:35

    As I look ghastly in mustard yellow, (even best friends have told me so,) I will have to resign myself to a certain amount of stainage. And you are right, the issuance from formulas, much worse than breastfed!

    Reply

  3. Sister
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 16:25:30

    Definitely some busy prints to camouflage, and I remember cream-colored stains, so maybe some beige prints….

    Reply

  4. Lee Ann Slosar
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 19:30:26

    not so much a fabric suggestion, but I find sunlight gets out lots of the stains. It works really well on your old baby clothes too. I wash everything and hang it in the bright sun to dry and most of the stains come right out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

