Sewing, Sewing, Sewing. Finishing the Back Insert to the Wedding Gown.

Sewing along.  And sewing. And sewing. 

What is done so far.

  • Second fitting is complete.
  • The back insert is sewn to the body of the dress.
  • Lace discarded from the butt bow is sewn onto the back insert to cover the zipper and provided some visual continuity.
  • Those annoying little snaps are sewn down so the applique that crosses the zipper doesn’t flap around.
  • The pearl ormanentation on the right side of the back is complete.
  • Hooks for the train to attach to the back have been replaced on the right side.

What is left to do.

  • Ornamentation on the left side of the back needs to be sewn on.
  • Hooks for the left side of the train must be affixed.
  • Attempt to clean the lace at the hem of the dress that was sullied on the first wearing.
  • Attach tulle to the lining that will hang below the current lace to increase the length of the skirt, making it more in proportion to my cousin’s height.

Had a doctor’s visit this week and turns out my nagging respiratory infection is bronchitits.  My ribs hurt from the coughing and holding this dress up for hand-sewing has been hell.  I’ve only been able to withstand 30-45 minutes at a stretch until I came upon this unusual solution today.  We have an out-of-town visitor so the futon is laid flat instead of in its usual position as a couch.  Wanting to watch a little TV while doing the repetitive work on this dress I decided to lay the dress flat on the stretched out futon mattress.  It worked like a charm!  Sitting on a nice firm kitchen chair that was supportive of my back pulled up to the futon, I had all of this wonderful room to lay out the dress.  I didn’t have to worry about it dragging the floor and I was able to work for about 2 1/2 hours.  I got so much more done than I anticipated.  I am going to keep the futon in mind as a work surface for other large projects.

Tomorrow I hope to finish the left side of the back and then onto the next bit of uncharted territory, spot-cleaning bridal lace.  YIKES!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betsy
    Aug 05, 2011 @ 00:16:16

    Please, please, please, take care of yourself. This is fascinating, everything you’re doing, but I’m concerned…

    Reply

  2. Sister
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 10:36:58

    You are amazing! All this complicated work while you’re sick…you’re Wonder Woman!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

