Blogging the Bridal Dress

The photo is a bit dark but you can see that it is a typical 80's Victoriana wedding gown.

This summer my little cousin, (age 24,) is getting married.  Her mother-in-law-to-be has given her the wedding dress she wore in the 1980’s.    My cousin likes the dress but hates the sleeves and the butt bow. Also the back will not close. My cousin is 5’10”, athletic, with br0ad shoulders and the original dress owner is 5’6″ with narrow shoulders. 

The butt bow was snipped off in ten seconds leaving two things to contend with.  Getting the sleeves removed and making the arm acceptable. Then inserting a back panel so the thing can be zipped and provide enough coverage for a standard bra to be worn.

Alterations, especially bridal, are not my favorite.  Because the thing is, once I remove the back zipper and sleeves, I have to get it right, or I will have dismantled the mother-in-law’s wedding dress for nothing.  No pressure there. 

Here you can see the full leg of mutton sleeve. The lady at the fabric store also called them bell sleeves. I pulled out the tulle that hold the pouf and tried to get my cousin to reconsider but she hates the sleeves. So they have to go. They are a bit fuller than is fashionable and it is an August wedding.

I plan to work on it over the next week and will keep you posted.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tanit-Isis
    Jul 26, 2011 @ 09:49:55

    Wow, that is some eighties craziness there! I’m not big on alterations at the best of times, bridal ones would scare the crap out of me. Good luck! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

