My Short Rows Have Holes at the Ends

As anemia has sapped my strength I spend hours sitting around.  For awhile I was watching TV, but the only thing on is the rehashing of the Casey Anthony trial and nothing new is being discussed.  Even reading has gotten old and I tend to nod off.  Now in order to wrest some productivity from my enforced leisure I have picked some knitting back up. 

I go through phases where I knit more than others. I knitted some dishcloths recently and then decided on a girl’s sweater as another quick project.  This one is from Debbie Bliss in her book Junior Knits.  It is a little bolero made of standard worsted yarn. 

I enjoyed knitting it.  My daughter likes the sweater and I see only three mistakes that I would like to correct in my next sweater. 

1.) The first is the seaming of the underarms shows on the outside.  I just need to get off my tuckus and hunt down one of my knitting reference books to correct that one. 

The remaining two are more troublesome and now it comes to mind that I have had similar errors in the pasts and wondered how to remedy them.

2.) My short rows have little holes at the ends.  See.

Short rows are where you have to turn before you reach the end of the row. I hope the pic isn't too dark but those big holes are where I had to turn to make each short row.

In order to do the curve of the neckline one must knit short rows at the back nape area.  The curvature was successful but it created little holes.  Does anyone utilize the short row technique in their knitting often enough to tell me how to get around this?

3.) The next mistake is another hole.  Whenever I pick up an inside corner I get a hole.

This is the inside corner of the neckline.  It isn’t an obvious spot and not too noticeable when worn, but whenever I pick up an inside corner, it elongates that area and pulls apart the knitting making a hole.  Again, does anyone know how to remedy this?

 

It is hard to see in the pic even after I blew it up, the little white spot between my fingers is the offending hole. Like a shawl collar in sewing this pattern had a squared off inside corner and when I picked up the stitches to make the ribbing this hole was created.

I always seem to encounter problems that aren’t discussed in the manuals. I know a lot of sewers are knitters also, and I would love to hear from you on these two tricky techniques. 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 02:55:54

    Very cute little cardi – I have put my knitting resources somewhere (?) in my sewing room cupboard but the internet is a great resource too, and as you’re sitting a lot check out the amazing you tube vids on everything knitting. i have no idea about how to avoid the holes you’ve described – actually quite like the effect in the pic of your short rows because it has an almost lacey regularity about it. Still, your wee one will be cute as in this.

    Reply

  2. Ellen
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 20:57:43

    I’m too new a knitter to be of any help to you, but it’s an incredibly cute little cardi and I bet no one will notice those little holes but you.

    Reply

  3. carolinatortuga
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 13:28:27

    Hello, I am trying to make this bolero for my daughter but I get stuck when adding more “mailles” at the beginning of each new row….

    I don’t get how to add them since I am knitting in circle…where shall I find the space needed?

    I hope you can help me,

    Tks in advance.

    C.

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Feb 22, 2012 @ 16:48:21

      IF memory serves me right, I think I began a new row, worked a few stitches, and then added my stitch by working into the back of one stitch, letting it remain on the left needle, and then working into the front of the stitch before changing it over to the right needle. Do you have a marker on the beginning of each row, as you say you are working in the round? That way you can know when to add. You could also add anywhere you thought might be unobstrusive. If it is just a few stitches add where the underarms will be. If you must add many they can be added throughout the round. Hope this helps. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

