Tip:For the Expecting Mom – Bra Extenders

Bodice of McCall's 6119 Halter Top.

All of this talk of boobs and bustiness during my fitting of McCall’s 6119 Halter Top has got me to thinking about something that has helped me greatly throughout my pregnancy.

Beginning early in my pregnancy anything binding my torso increased my already agonizing nausea.  Bras that previously felt just fine were now cutting into my rib cage and adding to my misery.  Still unsure of how much more I might increase in weight and girth, I feared having to buy several whole new collections of brassieres as I moved through the trimesters.

I can’t remember which pregnancy book I read this in, but I am thankful that another woman passed this useful FYI along.

Bra Extenders.

Bra Extender

I remember associating these with the matrons of my youth, who often wore unalluring housedresses and industrial strength bras.  That’s why I glance over them on the notions shelf.  I assumed that anyone who might need one of these little numbers was definitely not in the childbearing stage of life.

Not so.

Needing money to pay off the OB/GYN fee rather than retooling my lingerie drawing, I decided to try out this inexpensive suggestion first.  I bought four.  (Good thing because I have lost two already.)  I went to Hancock’s but I have seen them at JoAnn’s also.  They come in 2,3 and 4 hook variations to match the back closures of your bra.  (There might be a five hook one too that I have seen.)

Absolutely unglamorous items, but they give terrific results.   The nausea was still present but at least my clothes weren’t making it worse.   Lingerie is expensive and I was saved from having to buy a whole new collection of bras for each size increase during my pregnancy.

I am so thankful to whomever passed this along to me that I wanted to share it with other moms-to-be as one of those small things during my pregnancy that has turned out to be a huge help.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tanit-Isis
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 12:50:04

    Good job on finding an inexpensive workaround! My first pregnancy, I think I just stole some of my mom’s bras. The second I had a little more money and actually bought some maternity/nursing bras, but then I didn’t like them anyway :P.

    Of course if I’d had to actually pay for the doctor, too… well, I just won’t even go there. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sister
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 22:52:11

    Cool – never heard of those….being a bony-chested woman, I’m usually looking for stuffing. Congrats on getting that bodice to fit better – perseverance pays off!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

