A Marriage Milestone

Later this month my husband and I will celebrate ten years of marriage.  We have known each other a long time and you might think that there are no surprises left.   Au contraire mon frere.  Today brought a true first in our relationship.

My husband cleaned out his own closet!

Normally I sneak in when he is at work and quietly divest him of faded sweaters and stained oxfords.  Or I gather pants that no longer fit and pile them on his side of the bed so he can’t lie down without seeing them.  Come 5 p.m. I see him reclining in the bed taking an after-work breather, the pile moved to my side.

That is when I hold each garment up one by one and say, “Do you still use/want/need this?”

I once asked if his mom had ever made him go through his clothes while growing up.  His baffled expression told me everything.

One can imagine then how dubious I was of last night’s proclamation.  While flipping through the channels he announced that he wants to own as few material possessions as possible.  He was going to aggressively thin his things, culling the stuff he no longer uses frequently and donate it to thrift.

I reminded him that I already do that and not to cull my things.  Then I expected him to forget.

He even got rid of the shoes he got married in, and that he had on when he spent two hours in the clink, but that is another story. I almost exhorted him to let me get them resoled, then I remembered that I had recently trashed the wedding garter belt . Sentiment aside, I let him pitch them in the bin.

Well, a man can still surprise you after a decade!  As a teacher he is on summer break.  This morning we got up, we made the bed, then he shooed me from the room, opened up his closet door and began. 

Two large bags of clothes are sitting by our door destined for donation; I am mystified as to what got into him.  He even showed me where he had moved the sweaters and suit jackets to the back of the closet because they were “out of season” evincing a level of sartorial forethought that he has heretofore pooh-poohed. 

Wow, you think you know a man, and then he pulls out something like that.  I gotta love him! 😉

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ellen
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 17:02:12

    Congratulations! Both for the anniversary and for the surprise!

    Reply

  2. Steph
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 23:56:49

    Wow- that’s really cool. Great to know you can still surprise each other.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

