It’s a Boy!

Yesterday I began my 20th week and my husband and daughter were with me for the scheduled ultrasound.   The baby was sleeping and not moving very much making it hard for the technician, but after several tries jiggling my belly she finally got a clear enough shot to see the gender.

We are the proud parents of a son! 

My daughter was hoping for a girl and her face pinched up a bit when the tech announced it was going to be a little brother.

My husband and I had a strong feeling that it was a boy.  I kept seeing darling little girl clothes in stores but whenever I approached the racks something in my heart kept saying, “Hold off.  It’s not a girl.”

I have also held off sewing anything for the baby.  But this morning I was scoping out all of the offerings on the Big 4 pattern websites.  It looks like Butterick and Simplicity have the best options and I will now have to wait for another one of those big pattern sales.

My 24-hour nausea has abated somewhat to only 12-hour nausea leaving me a little window for getting my life in order and sewing for the little pumpkin.  And sewing for me as well, as my belly will probably be the size of a large pumpkin before this is all over.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gwen
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 07:18:50

    Congratulations to you, and to your family. Best wishes and blessings to you all.

    Reply

  2. Ellen
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 22:43:10

    Whew! I thought you had the baby (as in gave birth) already, and couldn’t believe time had passed that fast. Congratulations!! I had a girl first, and then a boy, and while she really wanted a little sister, she and her brother have always been great friends.

    Reply

  3. Marie-Noëlle
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 05:06:29

    Same as Ellen, I thought the baby was born already !!!!
    Congratulation for the little boy . A girl and an boy, that’s what we called “Le Choix du Roi”.

    Reply

  4. Sister
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 22:42:34

    Congrats! My first son was 5 when I was pregnant with our second child, and he REALLY wanted a little sister. I’ll never forget when my husband (he’s a radiologist and was doing the scan himself) said it was another boy – Drew just threw his head in his hands! So pitiful, aren’t they, these older siblings!

    Reply

  5. Emily
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 17:10:20

    How lovely, a little boy. Congratulations and best wishes to you and yours. Great too that the nausea has reduced some, or at least you have a bit of time when you’re not swallowing lots. Lord I remember those times.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

