Domestic Disruptions Cause a Giant Blogging Break

Repairs. 

That is what I have been doing during this protacted online silence.

Cincinnati has endured two and a half straight months of rain which I guess depressed all of my appliances since they all went on strike at once.

The stove:  I smelled my cake burning and a quick check of the oven thermometer showed the oven at 600 degrees!  I turned it off and it never worked again.  The gas stovetop burners still lit meaning it wasn’t a total loss.  Buying a fresh heating coil for a 1993 oven wasn’t worth it.  So new oven. 

The dishwasher: Would not start.  The racks made for a giant dish drainer which came in handy, but with a baby on the way I wanted it fixed.  The repairman got the machine to kick on but then we heard a terrible squealing.  He said the heat compressor had overheated and then lost its mind.  Replacing it would cost nearly what a new dishwasher was worth.  Got a fresh dishwasher. (And got the warranty on this one!)

The dryer: The dryer hasn’t heated for a long time.  Once the cat came running out from behind it, her coat covered in dust bunnies, and the machine mysteriously worked for one day.  Then quit again.  I have a clothesline which works out fine most of the time, but this year we are experiencing a monsoon instead of a proper Midwestern spring.  With a baby on the way, and oodles of yarped upon garments in my future, I wanted it fixed.  The repairman stood over it for two minutes and pronounced it dead.  New dryer now whirling away in the laundry room.

The refrigerator: Sensing a savior was about to appear, the weekend before the repairman was to arrive, the fridge started spilling water out of the bottom.  The repairman looked at me incredulously and asked, “Do you want me to fix it!?” “Yes, I want you to fix it!  Do you think I can afford another appliance!”  Turned out to be an easy repair and I watched him like a hawk the whole time so I can replicate his steps if this happens again.

Amidst all of the hubbub of a typical school year end, doubled for our household since my husband teaches and we have a school-age daughter, I have been pricing/researching/repairing/buying a whole kit of fresh appliances.   The one new appliance I didn’t get that I really want is a new sewing machine, but I couldn’t stomach such self-indulgence in the face of looting our savings account.

Life should be calmer with all of my new appliances whirring away assisting me in the course of my day.  I am looking forward to the time freeing up so I can spend some time at my sewing table.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie Cook
    May 26, 2011 @ 19:07:21

    Ugh. Appliances are the one thing I always get the extended warranties on, and they’ve always paid for themselves. It’s a big shock to your bank account, but it’s nice to have new ones so I hope you can enjoy them for a long time.

    Reply

  2. Steph
    May 26, 2011 @ 19:35:02

    I like the thought of your cat trying to fix the dryer. hehe. What is it with cats and dryers, anyway?

    Glad its all up and working, and anyway it’s better to loot the savings account than go into debt. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sister
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 10:51:49

    Yikes – what a mess! But how nice to have all new appliances! Hope your weather gets better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

