I’m Afraid of Getting Caught With My Pants Down!

Clotheswise I am in kind a fix here.

I am so nauseous that anything binding my belly increases my discomfort.  Waistbands or elastic hitting right at the navel feel terrible.

But my bump is not big enough to keep up maternity pants.  They fall down.  Or they hold up but the side seams are so off center that it bothers me as I walk.  I never knew off grain side seams could be so uncomfortable.

I could just buy a few sizes bigger and I have.  But those items present their own problems.  They don’t bind my belly.  However they don’t stay up any better than maternity wear.   It looks like I am a size gazillion at the navel, but still a size 16 at the butt and thigh. 

You see my baby bump is strange.  It is the opposite shape as what maternity clothes were designed for.

My oddly shaped baby bump.

I vaguely remember this problem with my last pregnancy but then I had a sit-down job.  No problem keeping pants up then.  But now as a SAHM I am up and about all day.  Constantly adjusting the waistline so my pants don’t fall off and rolling up the hems so I don’t step on them is getting on my nerves.

My first instinct when I announced was to make a collection of say twelve or so items.  But how do I fit maternity clothes when I am not that size?  I also tried converting some thrift store jeans into maternity, but I did not like some of the instructions, or the same issue arose in that I really don’t have enough belly to warrant maternity wear.   I’m glad they were just thrift store pants because I ended up throwing away my experimental pairs. 

But another idea has come to me.  Take a standard pattern for knit pants and alter the front seam for a protuberant belly?  Over the next few days I am going to get some crap fabric from  the clearance racks and see what happens.  

Let me know if anyone else has had the same belly issue or am I the only woman whose belly pops at the top before it pouches at the bottom?

Next Post: Thursday, April 14, 2011: Good Advice

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tanit-Isis
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 18:18:04

    My thoughts? Dresses, overalls, and suspenders. I never yet met a pair if maternity pants that stayed up. And I had a standard, low-hanging bump.

    YMMV, and I hope you find something that works! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Steph
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 18:46:27

    Dresses, definitely. Dresses. I had a high bump, I carried rather close in my body so at 9 months I didn’t look like a massively pregnant lady, I looked like a chubby version of myself. It has to do with muscle tone and the way you’re put together inside.

    Reply

  3. Lee Ann
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 23:10:27

    Hey there,
    Had no idea you were such a seamstress! Makes my sewing efforts pale in comparison. Congrats on the pregnancy, can’t wait to see whether the new baby is a boy or girl.

    Reply

  4. PepperToast
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 19:05:58

    I had the same belly (carried my babies inside) and maintained my ‘girlish hips and thighs’ till the end. Dresses and overalls. The overall thing really surprised me. I could never pull them off before pregnancy but a good ole pair of Gap maternity overalls was the look that the people wanted and loved and they were ultra comfortable.

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 15:45:05

    You need a pair of Belly Ups! Your “pants falling down” problem will be solved!!!! http://www.bellyups.com.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

