My Sewing Sentimentality has Gone the Way of my Appetite.

Still too queasy and tired to sew.  I have a stack of cleaning cloths to serge on the sewing table, some of the easiest sewing of all, but still undone.

For now, I am have to be content to do sewing related things.  This week it was another stash bash.  My criteria was if I wasn’t going to be able to use the fabric for another two years, due to pregnancy and nursing, then I would pass it on.   I often see sewers trolling the craft section of one local thrift so I decided to take my excess there.   Because in two years time, the trends will have changed, the colors will have changed and I probably will have changed too.  Let it bless someone who can get enjoyment out of it today.

Brought my fabric stash from the back room and laid it out on my bed to go through.

I had 54 fabric lengths total including both garment and practice/wearable muslin yardage.   Got rid of 17 pieces, about 46% of my stash!  I did it in one afternoon.  And I didn’t shed a tear.  Apparently my sewing sentimentality has vanished along with my appetite.

Now I have only to tackle the quilting fabric!  But that is for another day. 🙂

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steph
    Mar 29, 2011 @ 20:05:29

    Are you having a baby? Congrats! I must have missed that.

    That’s so cool of you to do that with your stash. I keep trying to sew down all the fabric I have because I know when we move I’d rather move clothing than fabric.

    Reply

  2. Ludy
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 10:19:10

    How amazingly generous of you! How sensible! Well done. and I hope the queasiness settles for you soon.

    Reply

  3. Sister
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 23:21:31

    You have really blessed the people at the thrift shop – good job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

