Too Sick to Sew

My family values productivity.  We work hard and validate putting one’s mind to finding better and more efficient methods of doing things.  Despite the bad press, to a certain degree I have always enjoyed multi-tasking and making to-do lists.  Folks who pushed pass illness and got as much done as they could earned a lot of praise in my family.

But I have noticed that whatever your personal bent, God likes to give you opportunities to experience the opposite. 

Pregnancy and productivity are not compatible bedfellows apparently. 

I have pregnancy nauseau.  No particular surprise.  But an additional upset is to my mental system.  I am up and about for 45 minutes and then have to sit down for 15-20 minutes.  If I don’t do this the nauseau just keeps cranking up all day until it I am totally miserable by nightfall.  If I try to push through the nauseau and keep going at my normal pace, the nauseau just rears back with a giant right hook and lays me flat.  So much for mind over matter.

Some of you will think, “So what, take the rest.”  But for me as I sit looking at my house I become impatient seeing all of the things I want to do.

For example, I have some simple sewing projects languishing undone.  Even though it is a sitting down activity, my body is registering sewing as work.  Though I have some good ideas I am not getting much accomplished.  My only finished pieces are two attempts to alter RTW  thrift store jeans into maternity.  My results were middling.  I will show you some pics in a later post.

I appreciate the advice and well-wishes I recieved in the last post.  I can’t wait to try some of those ideas out.  I do need clothes as I am beginning to pop out.  But I need rest more, at least that is what my body is telling me, though my mind somewhat disagrees.

It is one day at a time for now.  I have pulled out some patterns for practice muslins. We’ll see how far I get.  We are announcing to family this weekend so I may spend more time on the phone that at the machine. 

Next Post: Tuesday, March 8, 2011: The jeans or the vest: I can’t decide.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Laree
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 14:43:38

    I hear ya. Mono isn’t as exciting as pregnancy, but I’m fighting the same ‘ I want to be doing stuff’ inner refrain! Here’s to both of us resting like we’re ‘posed to!

    (…and the family hasn’t found out from the blog? 😉 )

    Reply

  2. Sister
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 15:16:16

    Well congratulations, but sorry you’re not feeling well. That’s very exciting! But I understand your frustration – it’s maddening to have to lie around when you see 15 things you could be doing. Good luck with it, and hang in there.

    Reply

  3. Ellen
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 18:17:46

    Oh, ick, it’s never fun to not feel well, and especially when you want to be doing something. But really, your body is working very hard making that lovely new baby. Maybe when you rest, you can visualize that and feel like you’ve gotten something done.

    BUT, I do hope you start feeling better sooner.

    Reply

  4. Ludy
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 19:03:01

    Hmmm know the feeling, Asthma does the same thing to me. Hang in there and best to listen to your body.
    I liked Ellen’s comment “visualise your body is working hard making that lovely new baby” Creating a baby is very hard work! 🙂
    And yes, I too hope you feel better soon.

    Reply

  5. Tanit-Isis
    Mar 03, 2011 @ 21:23:02

    Ugh, that sucks! I didn’t have huge nausea (though it was worse second pregnancy than first), but man was I tired. Everything was that little bit harder… And that was when I was ridiculously young. I don’t even want to think about what a number pregnancy would do to me nowadays (and I am not that old, either 😉 )

    As others have said, you need to listen to your body. It’s working hard, even if you aren’t. Take it easy, do what you can, when you can, and let the rest go.

    Reply

  6. Echo
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 02:01:25

    Oh cripes. I love to sit still but not when I’m feel crappy. How lovely that you are pregnant – congratulations – and bummer you are feeling poorly with so many jobs calling out to get done. I fortunately wasn’t sick when preg with my girls but, like Tanit-Isis, was really really really really tired from the start. I enjoyed avoiding cleaning the house to a point but couldn’t summon the energy to do the things I loved either. Sigh. You can, of course, grumble, while you rest :o)) We understand …

    Reply

  7. Marie-Noëlle
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 09:47:41

    I am so sorry for you and hope you are better soon. The nausea will disappear when the 3rd month of pregnancy is over. In the mean time, do the best you can to rest and don’t feel guilty for what is not done. Imagine the revolution at work in your belly. It’s a wonder and you must thank god for that.
    Hope every one around you is supporting and understanding.
    Take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

