A Change in Plans

For the past two months I have been concentrating on sewing a spring wardrobe using the Harper’s Bazaar outline.   It is a list of 50 garments, which is demanding, but fun to think about all of those new clothes.

I am about ten home-sewn garments into the fifty and I am thrilled.  But the last few weeks I have paused in my sewing.  It seems there is to be a complete change of plans.

Instead of sewing stuff that looks like this:

Vogue 1220

It appears I shall be sewing things that look like this:

Kwik Sew 3326

Yes, fellow home-sewers, I am preggers! 

Due late September or early October.

As a plus-size mom, finding maternity clothes in my size range is nearly impossible, and when they are found, they are often dumpy and ugly.  That is why I am excited to have the time with this pregnancy to sew some attractive clothes for myself. 

But how should I go about it?

Do I continue with the original spring wardrobe list, only making up maternity clothes?

Or do I scrap it, and sew several small capsules of coordinating garments?

Who else has successfully sewn for their own or another’s pregnancy?  Do you have any advice to give me?

Next Post: Thursday, March 3, 2011: My First Try at Altering a Pair of Thrift Store Jeans into Maternity Pants

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tanit-Isis
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 14:12:19

    Congratulations!

    I didn’t sew maternity clothes (heck, my first pregnancy I didn’t even have maternity clothes, just overalls and sundresses), but my hunch would be to focus on smaller mini-capsules. You’re not going to be pregnant for *that* long, I don’t think there’s much point in creating a full-range maternity wardrobe (unless they’re pieces you can alter or make work afterwards).

    Have fun!

    Reply

  2. Angela
    Mar 01, 2011 @ 14:16:18

    Congratulations!
    I don’t know what to suggest but I am sure whatever you decide will be stylish. Here’s a link of someone who has some attractive maternity things. I believe she even had tutorial about altering your jeans into maternity ones. I’ve kept that idea for future reference. I love the wrap around top. I think you will as well.
    http://shop.megannielsen.com/category/sewing-patterns

    Reply

  3. Connie Schaap
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 00:22:06

    Congratulations !!!!!
    I agree with Tanit-Isis. If I were to sew a maternity wardrobe it would be very small. You won’t need the clothes for very long and who knows what the style will be or if you will be a different size the next time you are pregnant. Make a few core pieces, buy some things to fill in and enjoy being pregnant.

    Reply

  4. Ludy
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 10:41:52

    Ohhhh, fabulous! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!

    Advice? I’d stick to the colour scheme you’ve already chosen and maybe change the style to accommodate your changing shape. I’m not sure how plus size you are but I found McCalls 6165 (a capsule) a couple of weeks ago. Could this help? I think Tanit- Isis, Connie and Angela have all given you good advice.

    Good luck and please, please, please, keep us posted. AND Enjoy your pregnancy. 😀

    All love, L

    Reply

  5. Ellen
    Mar 02, 2011 @ 21:34:38

    No wardrobe advice here, but just a big Congratulations!! Exciting news!

    Reply

  6. Christine Paz
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 21:26:41

    It’s been a long long time ago that I maded maternity clothing for myself. I do remember that the very tops I sewed up were adorable on me in in my 3rd through 6th months…simple style, easy to sew, great prints, complimentary colors. But what happened?! In that last trimester, my baby belly grew and grew and those sweet tops barely covered the bump. I’ve never been one to strategize but I should have anticipated what to expect…hem a little longer to cover potential major belly growth at the end.

    Reply

  7. Joyce Wyld
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 00:40:50

    I made lots of knit skirts with maternity panels what went under the bust. That way, I can wear any top I want, and my belly wouldn’t hang out. I chose to make neutral skirts-black, ivory, fawn, blue, and red-they went with almost anything. They were critical in the last weeks of pregnancy when NOTHING fitted properly anymore-and I’m pretty small, so I shouldn’t have had a problem. But most maternity things aren’t drafted properly IMHO, or were by men who have no idea.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

