Sewing Simplicity 2283 While I Consider Some Changes

Received some big news a few days ago.  I will tell you more next week.  For now I am taking a little breather and doing some simple quick sewing as I try to take it all in.

Going to make Simplicity 2283, the vest, and hope that my head clears with some basic sewing. 😉

Simplicity 2283

Next Post: Tuesday, March 1, 2011: Some Big News and Hopefully a Finished Vest

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fabriccreations
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 13:19:12

    I also made this vest! I love it!!

    Reply

    • deb
      Jul 01, 2011 @ 12:27:40

      I’m having a REAL difficult time understanding this “simple” pattern! the instructions are driving me crazy! “HOW” do I sew the shoulders? do you have a youtube video to show this? Please answer asap?

      Reply

      • Sewista Fashionista
        Jul 01, 2011 @ 16:30:07

        Just got back from vacation. Let me get settled and take a look. 🙂

      • Hannie
        Feb 01, 2014 @ 08:01:16

        I am sewing view B of Simplicity 2283, but cannot fathom theno.12 of view B. How on earth do I “sandwich front and back between the yoke and the facing???

  2. Sewista Fashionista
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 10:45:59

    I don’t have a youtube on this pattern. I seem to remember a squared off U. When I pull my sewn vest I see notches at the shoulder.

    When I have these kinds of seams I wing it. I cut a notch at the inside corners that will allow me to straighten the fabric as far as possible and then I sew. When you hit the corner areas it does feel touch and go, but forge ahead. It is similar to a shawl collar where the front pattern piece extends up and makes your back neck collar. It feels “wrong” but after you sew it makes comes out. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

