Ringing in the New Year with a Resolution

My New Year’s Resolution for 2011

Finish What I Start.

This is the overarching goal in all areas of my life that

I have for the New Year 2011.

In years previous I have made extensive lists and then lost sight of them sometime after Valentine’s Day.  I had so much I wanted to accomplish that I got sidetracked.  Last year I tried something different.  I concentrated on one word that would sum it all up.  Release

Most of what I needed to release were unhealthy attitudes, hurts and bitterness.  Stuff I won’t go into here.  Six months ago when I was in the thick of it I did not imagine it would ever be over.   But having that one concept to hold onto all year led to the resolution of a lot of emotional baggage.  Through God’s grace, pains that I thought would never end are now so completely petered out that I am bored with Release. 

 I want something else.  Something simple to understand and pointed towards an area of my life that really needs work.

 Finish What I Start.

As an artsy person this has been a bugaboo for me.  I have a lot of interests and I am easily sidetracked.  Now a large portion of my mind that previously expended tons of energy gnawing the dry bones of bitterness has found itself unemployed and looking for amusement.  A little voice inside my head keeps telling me, “Hey, you have a ton of inactive materials sitting around your house!  You have blessings that you aren’t even using. That doesn’t make any sense.”

So this is my next big thing: taking care of a considerable backlog of UFO’s still lurking in my house.  In addition to sewing, I have beading, genealogy and other home improvement/crafting endeavors, the residue of which is sitting all over my house, unfinished; a bunch of great ideas going to waste.  

Going through the Stash Bash this fall and early winter has inspired me and taught me,  just like my Aunt Marg said, diligence does pay off.  Both the Stash and the UFO’s can be reduced.  And I have gotten some great stuff out of it.  

But it can’t just be backlog or I will lose momentum.  Artsy folks need the stimulation of the new.  One portion of my energies is going towards UFO’s and another is going towards my two sewing goals:

  • sew a coherent wardrobe for myself
  • and, learn heirloom techniques.

In sewing a wardrobe I will be using the Harper’s Bazaar:Best Basic Wardrobe List I Have Ever Seen.  My trial run is for Spring 2011.  I am going to either sew or collect the number of prescribed garments in each category.  For example, if the list says that I need at least 8 knit tees then that is what I am going to concentrate on making or purchasing.  Determined to Finish What I Start, I am going to complete one category before moving on to another.  I can’t wait to see how far I get by Spring!  In the past I have both sewn and purchased rather randomly.  This will be my first ever sensibly structured attempt to assemble a working wardrobe!

My other sewing goal involves my daughter.  She is still small enough to wear heirloom dresses.  With some Christmas cash I bought a book “Sew Cute Couture” by Gail Doane which comes with traceable patterns and complete instructions for heirloom dresses and jackets for little girls.  There are six patterns in my daughter’s size range and I am hoping to finish one project every two months, meaning that I would have completed the entire book by year end 2011 and hopefully learned a lot.

There it is!  I actually can’t wait for DD and DH to go back to school so I can get started.

Happy New Year and Blessings Upon Your Resolutions!

Next Post: Tuesday, January 4, 2011: My First Post of the New Year; Wherein I consult an elder seamstress as to why my collar wants to fly off my neck.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marie-Noëlle
    Dec 29, 2010 @ 09:08:04

    Thanks for this great post.
    The HB’s list will be very helpful for me too.
    The 2nd half of 2010 I’ve tried hard to declutter our home. And I firmly intend to carry on during 2011. I’ve a great deal of UFO (mostly xstitch that I put aside for sewing) and I would like to finish some of them.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR

    Reply

  2. Ellen
    Dec 30, 2010 @ 21:14:12

    This is a great resolution! I haven’t even started thinking about resolutions yet, but simple is better. You are definitely on the right track!

    Reply

  3. Steph
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 00:52:57

    I do similar simple resolutions, I find it helps to direct my work for the year. I think this will be a great year. The HBBBWL looks good, though I’m not sure I’ve ever had that amount of clothing. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Echo
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 04:43:46

    Hi and happy new year to you…. Congraulations on the stash busting. I’m dead impressed and wishing you all the best for 2011 and those excellent resolutions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

