The Basket is Dwindling. Stash Bash Update.

Over the past few months I have been doing a Stash Bash where I am attempting to use up as much of my fabric stash as possible.  A major component of my stash is that I have quite a few UFO’s around.  Most get collected into this basket.

At the beginning of my mini-basket-bash this is what the collection of my UFO's looked like.

A few weeks ago I announced a mini-basket-bash within my larger Stash Bash.  I wanted to finish my basket before my goal date of December 17th. 

That did not happen.  Life got in the way.  But after a bit of a sewing funk, I am moving through the basket. 

A few weeks ago it looked like this.

The basket is going down but I still felt guilty when I looked at it.

Now it looks like this.

The basket today December 20, 2010. It now looks so ordered and I no longer feel overwhelmed. I can't wait to finish it.

Finished four projects over the past few days.  I hope to finish the mini-basket-bash by the end of the year so I will start the New Year UFO-free!

(At least sewing UFO’s!)

Here are my finished project pics.  Some were cut in the summer and are completely out of season.

A wearable muslin of a jacket pattern that I am on the fence about.

A jacket wearable muslin. I still have to slipstitch the lining at the sleeve hem and sew on buttons.

A summer dress for my daughter.

A very out-of-season summer dress for my daughter. I tried a new way of attaching the back yoke facing to zipper placket. Meh. Need some more practice on that technique.

A huge winter granny gown from the Martensson book.  I made a summer gown of the same pattern earlier this year.

A granny gown. I got a ton of this calico from my thrift store. Plain but useful as granny gowns take so much yardage.

A long sleeve version of McCall’s 5884, the tie-front blouse.

A long sleeve version of the tie front blouse. The print is so pretty but I had forgotten how irritating slippery fabric can be. Gathering the sleeves about drove me mad.

Next Post: Thursday, December 23, 2010:Hemming Jeans

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Steph
    Dec 21, 2010 @ 06:45:21

    Oooh so gutsy posting pictures of the UFO basket… Isn’t it funny how something can need a simple hem and it sits undone for ever?

    Sigh… I should really get some mending done. UFO’s don’t bother me so much as much-loved wardrobe pieces that need mending.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

