Sewing Withdrawal

I’m having sewing withdrawal.

Yesterday I woke up with an overwhelming desire to buy sewing patterns.  I was sure that one of the major fabric chains would be having a sale.  A long browse through a pattern catalog and then picking over my choices – sounded like a wonderful morning.

But then there was news of a snowstorm coming.  Both my husband, a schoolteacher, and my daughter will be home with me from this Friday onward during Christmas break.   Yep, that’s two full weeks of family togetherness!  All of us packed into our little house.  (I’m already planning what great activities might be available locally – and I am going to suggest some father/daughter time.)  🙂

I have to work hard in December to finish things before the school break begins.  But this year has laid a kink in my plans.  Two snowstorms.  One this Monday, and now one today, Thursday. The snowstorm meant they will be home with me during the week I rely on to finish up holiday shopping and most importantly, wrapping without the recipients around to sneak a peek. 

That meant forget the pattern catalog browsing.  Finish the holiday shopping.  Aarrgh!  Let me tell you.  After picking up gifts stashed at the Memaw’s and then going from store to store finishing up – it is like eating too many holiday sweets – you are just done.  More than done.  A bit sick. 

It certainly cured my impulsive desire to buy tons of new patterns.

Probably for the best.

I have been pushing hard to finish Christmas and haven’t been able to sew anything.  I can’t wait to be back at my machine.  Tomorrow was to be the final day for my Stash Bash but I still have a half-basket full of things I promised myself to finish.  Can’t decide if I need to cut my losses and release the Stash Bash or to extend it and push to finish that basket. 

What do you think?  Finish up the remaining projects, or just release them and move on?

Next Post: Saturday, December 18, 2010: If I Haven’t Gone Crazy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steph
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 17:24:34

    I’d probably cut my losses, put everyone to bed, have a glass of wine and watch a girly movie while making fabric flowers. Or gasp- make nothing. You might find it’s really, really lovely to completely say NO to being responsible for a few hours, and then you’ll have plenty of energy to keep on being selfless for others.

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Dec 16, 2010 @ 17:40:55

      You are right. The lush booziness of say, a hot toddy, will probably clear up my fuzzy thinking! Since I am lavish with the toddy it will certainly make me incapable of handling any machinery for the next few hours. LOL

      Reply

Leave a Reply

