My Sewing Space:Enjoying the Blessings I Already Possess

My house is so tiny that when you turn around sometimes you bump into yourself.  Being a Victorian bungalow, it is, like any very elderly person, prone to unexpected imperative repairs that are costly and command a great deal of your time and attention.  There are many charming aspects of my home, but as I batter my wits for ever more ingenious storage places, or wonder how I will come up with the funds for yet another repair, I have more than onced soundly cussed out this house.

Groucho curled up beside his "girlfriend", a stuffed cat of my daughter's.

As a stay-at-home mom I am home all day and throughout this week I have especially missed the presence of my cat who died suddenly this past Sunday of a heart attack.  I am used to moving about the house seeing him in his usual haunts or sometimes nearly tripping because he dashed across my path.  As I kept registering his absence a thought occurred to me.

That cat had lived nearly his total life in this house, and he never wanted to be anywhere else. 

 Because this is where his family was.

I do realize that Groucho was just a cat and didn’t have opinions on interior decoration or home repair.  And though we could have used the help, he never once lifted a hammer to oblige us.  But I think that there is something to be learned here.

Sometimes I get so focused on repairs or renovating or decorating, or I fret over my failure to do those things –  that I forget that the people make the house.  Not stuff.  Groucho only cared about what was going on within the hearts of his family of people and pets, and how that was manifested in the spirit that filled the house. Were they techy or angry with each other?  Were they peaceful and relaxed?  Were they having fun with each other and connecting with each other and the pets contained within the home?

Sometimes when I open a kitchen cabinet and groceries fall on my head I have  wished for a larger home with endless closets and “room enough for a pony.”  But this little cat sprawled in a streak of sunshine at the end of the bed, never wished for more than he had. 

I don’t think wanting a larger home is inherently wrong, but I think my focus on material things has often kept me from taking in the goodness I already possess.  

It is humble but I love my sewing area. Is it normally a little cluttered like this? Yes. And is that crayon on the far wall? Yes.

Considering my blessings brought to mind my sewing space which I want to share with you.  It isn’t particularly enviable but it is one of my favorite places in the house.  My machines are in a corner of our living room where I can watch my daughter or take in a show with the family as I sew.  The machines are old.  The furniture is hodge-podge.  But I have spent some wonderful hours there creating while the cat rested behind the machine, and my daughter and husband were curled on the couch taking in a Dr. Who video marathon. 

The memory of Groucho staring at me from behind the machine as I sewed, and sometimes swiping the moving fabric with a paw has kept me from sitting back down to sew.  And there are some Christmas preparations to fill the hours.  But I am continuing my mini-basket bash of the once heaping sewing basket and I will post my Stash Bash update on Saturday.   I am going to skip my usual Friday posting due to Xmas prep.  I have to unfurl the branches of our artificial tree and put on the lights – my least favorite Christmas tradition! : /

When I serge I can see out of the front window across a hillside. I love sitting in the natural light as I sew.

I want to thank all of you who left such kind words of condolence.  Reading those well-wished meant a lot to me.  Still heartsore but plan to be back in the saddle sewing again by next week. 

All my love,

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gwen
    Dec 09, 2010 @ 14:08:05

    I was touched by your post. You are so right. Hearts make a home. I’m sorry you lost your fur child. Blessings.

    Reply

  2. Elaray
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 10:27:54

    Wonderful post. Everyone once in a while, I realize just how much I appreciate my humble home and how comfortable I am there – much like Groucho. 🙂 Thank you for pointing it out to me. It’s something I need to be reminded of.

    Reply

  3. angie.a
    Dec 10, 2010 @ 10:36:20

    Poor little kitty. 😦 I’m sorry for your loss. Losing a beloved pet must be the one of the hardest things to bear and talk about, because those who don’t have the love of a pet just don’t understand. My fur babies are very much part of the family. My mom lost her lab a couple of weeks ago too, she was diabetic and no one ever knew. She gorged on Thanksgiving leftovers and went into a diabetic coma and died. It was so traumatic for my mom, because how would you ever prepare for that? None of us even knew dogs could GET diabetes.

    She’s doing better, and it sounds like you’re doing a bit better too. In a few months when you feel ready, maybe another fur baby will come along and ease the loneliness.

    I looked for an email but its possible I missed it, so I’m going to respond to a comment you left for me, here! 🙂 (My email is on my blogger profile I think if you want to add me to your address book).

    I do think computerized machines are lasting less and less “longterm”. They have little or no longevity. Just the very nature of having computerized gizmos and parts, there will be things that quickly become obsolete and easier to fail or screw up. Two of my 3 computerized machines are not in use because of simple, silly things that have gotten fickle to deal with. On one, the backstitch function is hard to use. sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. On another, it’s got a lag between stitch selection and changes. Both still have a beautiful stitch, but they’re close enough probably to becoming problem children that I’ve decided to just go mechanical. Nothing computerized to fail, and those machines are beasts! They last forever!

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Dec 10, 2010 @ 11:35:41

      Angie,
      Thank you for your condolences and I understand that your mom must be in utter shock. I too did not know that my pet could have a human disease like heart disease.

      I will check my site for an updated email. When I changed themes some of my sidebars changed up. Thank you for letting me know. 🙂

      Also, thank you for responding to my question on computerized machines. I am unexpectedly in the market for a fresh machine and I appreciate hearing input from others since no matter what machine you get, it is a chunk of the budget and I want it to be “right” for me.

      Reply

  4. Ludy
    Dec 12, 2010 @ 05:57:34

    I’m very new to this site. I wanted to say how sorry I was to hear about Groucho, my cat Jasper loves “helping” when I sew. I also wanted to thank you for reminding me of the blessings I have in my life. I too live in a very small apartment and regularly complain about the lack of space wishing for a larger sewing “studio”, thank you for reminding me that my tiny set up is perfect just the way it is.

    Cheers,

    Ludy

    Reply

  5. Sister
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 00:17:45

    Wonderful post, and I’m so sorry about Groucho. Hope you find some cheer during the holidays – I see why you’d be down what with Groucho and your cold snap.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

