Week Ten of the Stash Bash 2010:Update

My husband recently remarked that he had made his peace with moving the basket of sewing out of the way every morning so he can get to the closet.  (He said it like he was at peace – but I’m not so sure???)

Now I sometimes feel bad for my husband on certain issues.  Before he married me he could not have guessed the depth of my sewing obsession nor the breadth of my fabric stash.   Though we live in a small cottage we do own chests in which we could store my material in a comely fashion.  Except they are holding my collection of vintage linens.  (Now I know that others may possess a larger linen collections than mine, but I’m not dead yet! 🙂

So when my husband made his comment, I thought, “I have to do something about this.”

Here it is – a big blue laundry basket where I stick all of my “current” sewing projects.

A few things have been added and subtracted since I took the photo but this is about the average level of sewing accumulation.

In the next few weeks as part of the larger Stash Bash I am holding a mini-bash, The Basket Bash.

I am reaching into the basket and whatever I come out with – I’m doing it.  Until the basket is empty.

Here is what I have done so far.

Doodles and decorations added to fleece hats.

Restored snap on daughter’s brown cord skirt.

Muslin changes to a jacket pattern and a wearable (I hope,) muslin cut.

 

Turtleneck wearable muslin hemmed and buttons sewn.

Completed shirt waiting for fray check to dry.

Fresh buttons for daughter’s school jumper.

Frayed appliqué restitched to sweater.

Bouquet reattached to Ballerina Groovy Girl.

I’m usually not this productive.  Maybe diligence pays off?

Next Post: Saturday, November 20, 2010:Attaching cuff to sleeve

while still sewing shoulder flat assembly method.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marie-Noëlle
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 11:09:59

    Keep on the good work

    Reply

  2. Eileen
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 20:06:38

    Great work. I am doing the same thing. I think the secret is diligence in DOING the project you grab, and not putting it back for something else.

    Show us a pic of your now-almost-empty basket!

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Nov 20, 2010 @ 09:56:54

      I promise a pic of the basket when it is almost empty! Right now it is still bursting 🙂

      Reply

  3. Tanit-Isis
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 20:26:45

    Good for you! I’ve been pretty good (so far) about working one project at a time, finishing one before starting the next.

    We won’t talk about the mending, though…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

