Butterick 3457 Pintuck Blouse and Beginning Simplicity 4978 A Shirt for School

Butterick 3457: Now OOP. Good call on Butterick's part.

I am not going to give a link for Butterick 3457 Pintuck Blouse.  I don’t know how long I have had this pattern.  I like the illustrations on the pattern envelope and keep trying to alter the shirt to suit me.   A few years ago I picked it up and had poor results.  But I liked the design so much that I stuffed it back into the filing cabinet thinking that with some time off I could get the pattern adjustments right.

Now I see that it is out of print and for good reason.  The shoulder area is poorly designed.  I will post a picture on tomorrow’s stash bash.

I am not even going to review it because you can’t buy this pattern anymore and I can hardly advise you to troll the vintage pattern websites looking for it.  I am going to trash this pattern thereby making room for a decent pattern in my stash.

But I have been working on another blouse; a school shirt for my daughter, Simplicity 4978.  Except she can’t wear this one to school.  I cut up an old shirt of mine that I made from another pattern that turned out not so great.  My first impression is that it is a clunky little pattern, but I want to give it another go before I review in full.

Simplicity 4978 Option E Girl's Blouse: Sans hem and buttons I think it looks a bit stiff on the hangar. I still have to try it on my daughter but I fear that it is like those clunky tight-in-the-arms shirts I hated as a child.

Next Post: Friday, October 22, 2010:Week Seven, I think?! of the Stash Bash

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sister (Lynn)
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 11:31:05

    I don’t know what it is about pintucks – I have avoided them at all costs because they look like so much work and I don’t have the special foot Gwen mentioned one time that made them easier. I’d like to see your shirt though – did you have a pintuck foot or do it all by hand?

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Oct 22, 2010 @ 12:18:48

      Well, not exactly by hand. I don’t have a pintuck foot – I don’t think – maybe I should look. I am betwist and between. They are some work, but they are so pretty. I’ll post the shirt with the stash bash update sometime today.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

