Stash Bash Fall 2010

During my annual fall de-cluttering I looked around my house and realized that I have very much pared down over the years.  There wasn’t much in the way of unnecessary, unloved, or unused.

Except for my fabric.

A large portion of my storage is going towards fabric.   

 It isn’t unloved,

 but it is definitely unused.

I Have:

Fabric for Practice Muslins

I use a rolling grocery cart for my practice muslin fabric. This is one bin that I don't mind if it stays nice and plump as I am beginning to think I need this kind of fabric more often than fashion fabric.

Fabric for Dresses and Blouses

My bin of silkies, sheers and dressweights.

Fabric for Shirts

My shirting fabric stored in a vintage metal kitchen cabinet from my Great-Aunt Margaret's farmhouse kitchen. My Great-Great-Uncle Peter, born in 1875 and whom I still remember chatting with as a preschooler in the early 1970's, used to make brooms and that broom on the left is one he made. It doesn't look like it, I know, but the cabinet and broom are family heirlooms. I love them dearly as humble as they are.

Fabric for Trousers and Jackets

My suiting and trouserweight fabric.

On a lark, I did a count of material I could sew up for fall/winter alone. 

Here are the figures.

 32 potential projects that I could be wearing or using in my home!

The embarrasment of riches continues.

It isn’t just fashion fabric I have stashed.  Additionally, I have  4 drawers of quilting cottons/home décor fabric.

My chest of quilting and home decor fabric.

I have all of these things that are potentially beautiful, but right now they are just things, sitting around, doing no one any good. How can my family appreciate our lovely things unless they can see and use them?

I have made resolutions in the past.  But now I am going online to declare my intentions!  (I’m hoping public embarrassment is the perfect kick-in-the-a** I need to truly commit to a long-term stash-bash!)

Between now and the first day of Christmas Break:

  1. I am going to make a full-hearted effort to reduce as much of my fall/winter and quilting stash as possible.  
  2. I am not going to be sidetracked by buying fabric for new project. 
  3. The only new fabric I can purchase is lining, interfacing, etc – materials I will need to finish a project from my stash.

My One Exception

I do have one exception to my fabric purchasing rule – I once got three, 3-yard rolls of quality men’s woolen suiting for $5.00 a roll at my local thrift store!  If it is a bona fide steal and at the thrift store – I can have it.  I mean, I’d kick myself if I didn’t.

Every Friday I will post a photo and give an update of how far I’ve come.

I am looking forward to empty fabric bins!

Next Post: Thursday, September 16, 2010;Granny Gown from the Kwik-Sew Lingerie Book

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Elaray
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 06:08:24

    You have set admirable goals! I know how hard it is to get rid of fabric you love. I don’t keep a fabric stash, but I did have lots of sewing books I never used. It was hard, but I donated them to a local library.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

