Tip:Using the Lines Printed on the Cutting Board as Guides

I have always been a tad lazy, but apparently not lazy enough because it has taken me years to cotton onto this one.

If you own one of those fold-up cardboard cutting boards they come with a grid.  Heretofore I have only used it to measure yardage and to cut on the bed.

Recently when I wanted to narrow a tie band collar but didn’t want to take the trouble of marking lines on the pattern –  I noticed something.

You can see through pattern tissue onto the gridlines

I have the center line of tissue on one line and I counted three blocks over and cut along that line for an even three inch cut line.

The center line of the band was clearly marked on the pattern tissue.  I wanted three inches to either side of the center.

I lined up the center line and counted over three grid squares and followed that line for my cut making sure that I kept the center line positioned. 

And you know what?

There are a lot of other marks on this thing too. Put there for my utilization!

Mine is a Dritz Superboard I think. Along with a basic one-inch grid it has diagonal and curved lines.

And to think I once only thought it was good for cutting on the bed.

Next Post: Tuesday, September 14, 2010;My Stash Bash

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sister
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 18:00:46

    I remember the first time I discovered I could pin straight into the cardboard and keep my fabric/pattern from moving too.

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Sep 11, 2010 @ 19:01:29

      Oooh! I didn’t know about pinning into the cardboard! Definitely going to use that tip next time I cut.

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Good Advice:Garment Labels, Sewing for Clients, Subscription Patterns and Pinning « Sew Store-Bought

Leave a Reply

