My Only’s First Day of Kingergarten

Yesterday was my only child’s first day of kindergarten.   I have never gone through this before and didn’t know how everything was going to do down.

I was a bit techy.  Which I expected. 

My husband went with me to drop her off at school and then to sweeten me up he swung by The Scottish Restaurant (McDonald’s) for some hot mocha coffees.

Sweet.  But not enough.

 

He went on to work and I came home where I promptly

 finished off our ice cream

 and the rest of a box of frozen waffles.

I made more coffee and drank all of it.

Then I felt loads better.

Euphoric almost.

My daughter enjoyed her first day of school.  She learned to say “yes, ma’am” and the class practiced lining up several times.  Such were the rigors of her day.

I learned that you can get a lot more done with no one else in your house!

Over the next week I will be getting adjusted and I won’t have much time for blogging or sewing.  I want to report on some of the fashion advice I got from the “Modest is Hottest” party and I am working on a fall jacket which I want to review.  Both are in the works but they may take me a little longer than usual to post.  Thanks for your patience.

I think this is going to be a great school year!

Next Post: Tuesday, August 24, 2010: Probably? The Modest is Hottest Party

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Echo
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 21:35:21

    The first day huh? I remember my twins’ 1st day at kindy and I have to admit that I didn’t shed a single tear. Perhaps I’m a cold hearted woman but they were having such a good time that I kinda forgot. My how much they have grown. Sigh.

    Enjoy your new found solo time at home by the way and DON’T, whatever you do, spend all of it doing chores. Yay to mummy time.

    Reply

  2. Sister
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 21:11:36

    Here, here! Echo is right – enjoy your alone time when you can. After school is hectic around here, especially when we parents have “homework” to do like signing multiple pieces of paper, etc. But it does fly – get ready…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

