Butterick 5040 Loose Peasant Tunic

Butterick 5040 Loose Peasant Tunic

Still part of my peasant pattern buys.  I keep trying this style in different permutations.  When I looked on the Butterick website this pattern shows up as out of print.  You may still be able to find it at fabric stores.

Pros:

  • Easy to Sew.
  • The yoke offers opportunities for creativity and accent.
  • The hemline can be altered for a dress or a blouse.
  • With some extra creativity you could have a nightgown or caftan from this pattern.
  • Flattering to a lot of figures.

Cons

  • It wasn’t flattering to my figure.
  • The neckline was too large.  In the photo below you can see how much I pinched out to make it fit.

Some Assembly Required:

I did flat assembly as always meaning I made the front and back separately and then attached the sleeve and sewed it all together at the underarm and side seams.

Butterick 5040 Loose Peasant Tunic Practice Muslin

Fabric:

This is a practice muslin and this is a second hand knit sheet.  The pattern envelope calls for knits and I wouldn’t use a woven on this as you want the neckline to fit securely and a woven wouldn’t allow you to get the blouse over your head unless you added some sort of opening and closure.

Finetuning:

I cut about four inches off the blouse hem.  This is one time when a tissue fit might give you a good sense of where the original hem is likely to fall on you.

Will I Sew it Again:

No.  Not because it is a bad pattern but because it made me look like a plus size lady trying to hide under too much top.  Unstructured garments rarely look well on me, but if you look good in peasant styles I think this pattern would be flattering.

Advice to Others:

Fit that yoke using some scraps.  Try it out with some cheaper knits at first to get a handle on how voluminous you like the sleeve and where you want the hem to fall.

Butterick 5040: This is how much I would have to pinch out of the yoke to make the neckline fit.

Overall Style Grade:  A – I think the pattern offers a lot of ways to individualize through color blocking, decorative work on the yoke, or choosing interesting prints.

Results Grade: C – it just wasn’t for me.

Next Post: Saturday, July 31, 2010: Whatever Inspires Me During my Vacation

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sister
    Aug 03, 2010 @ 11:58:53

    I love your fabric and the way you handled the stripes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

