Sewing Snit: Too Stiff Interfacing

Interfacing Irritation

This is my second rendition of Simplicity 2929 sewn in a lightweight denim.  Though the pattern calls for it I toyed with not interfacing it at all.  I wish I had gone with my initial instinct.

Here it is – an example of too stiff interfacing.

 

You will first advise me to use a lighter weight interfacing.  I used sheerweight and I still got chicken wings.

Too stiff interfacing is dorky.  But no matter how low I go in interfacing weight, often the result is too stiff.  I have stopped using it in many instances and liked the result. 

However, having started sewing during the “just so” era, I have ambivalence about chucking the stuff altogether.  

What are you using for interfacing? 

 Does it have a brand name?

And if you love your interfacing – where do you get it?

Next Post: Thursday, June 24, 2010; What to Do with a Dress that Makes Me Look Like Moses Coming Down from the Mountain

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marie-Noëlle LAFOSSE
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 07:18:03

    Very interesting topic.
    I, too am struggling to find the perfect interfacing. I have not found it yet. I hope that somebody gives us an answer

    Reply

  2. Louise in NYC
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 14:10:30

    I recently experimented with Fusi-Knit. Although designed for use with knits, it works well with light to medium weight wovens also.

    Sometimes I just use an extra layer of fabric such as quilting cotton for collars that I want to stay soft.

    For silks and silk-like fabrics, silk organza works very well.

    Love your blog, by the way!

    Reply

  3. Marie-Noëlle LAFOSSE
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 14:35:22

    Have you heard of Pam Erny’s http://off-the-cuff-style.blogspot.com/
    I think she has some very good professionnal quality interfacing
    I am seriously considering byuing them because I can’t find anything worth in France

    Reply

  4. Gwen
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 17:27:34

    I’m with you–interfacing is very often too stiff to suit me. I use sew-in when I want a very soft effect. I’ve used muslin for a very soft feel, and silk organza, which is a bit stiffer. I actually prefer sew-in interfacing–wovens-to fusibles because fusibles tend to be stiffer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

