Butterick 5041 Yoked Skirt:Pattern Review

Butterick 5041

Butterick 5041 Yoked Skirt

After having such mediocre results from the gathered yoke of Kwik Sew 3242 I was eager to hit the pattern sales and find designs with more fitted yokes as I thought if I placed the yoke strategically across my hips that it might detract from my belly.

Pros:

  • Even with the zipper and yoke facing this is easy to construct flat and then attach at sides.
  • I cut my finished piece a bit too large at the yoke and after sewing had to go in and take it in.  I hate alterations but this one was easy.
  • The finished piece looks harder than it is so you can look forward to impressing your friends.

Cons:

  • Can’t think of any.  Loved it.

Some Assembly Required

  1. First I tackled the back sewing the yoke facing to the yoke at top.  Then attached the yoke to the skirt body.  Remember to leave the facing free.
  2. Then I sewed up the two halves of the skirt back to the point of the zipper insertion.
  3. Inserted zipper.
  4. Repeated process with skirt front, sewing yoke facing to yoke at top seam.  Then attaching yoke to skirt body leaving yoke facing hanging free.
  5. Next I sewed up the entire side seams from yoke facing, down to yoke and on to the skirt hem. Match your seams remembering to lay the yoke seams so they will lay inside your yoke when you finish.
  6. Then I understitched the yoke facing down.
  7. Serged the yoke facing edges, laid the facing down and topstitched closed by stitching in the ditch on the right side of the skirt.
  8. Serged the hem, turned it up.

Ready to wear!

Fabric:

I bought this fabric a few years ago with some half-hearted idea of making a jacket, the design long-forgotten.  The material then aged in storage until this year.  When I began cutting I nearly cussed myself as the pattern is directional.  I barely got my skirt cut out of the yardage and I worried that the print might give me trouble.

Butterick 5041 Yoked Skirt in Embroidered Linen

I was absolutely mistaken

The directional embroidery took care of me gracefully pulling the eye over seams.   As long as I kept the flowers pointing up everything turned out alright.   I wish every print I worked with was a eager to please.

Finetuning:

My zipper turned out a bit wonky as I kept being interrupted by my preschooler to answer knock-knock jokes and consider requests for candy and snacks.   My machine also decided it wanted its needle changed during this process making me cuss it out in some kind of maniacal frenzy that caused my family to eyeball me, go silent and then turn their backs evincing a fresh renewed interest in the TV show.

In the future I shall remember this experience and be sure to change my needle at the start of the project.  And have some snacks on hand.  The knock-knock jokes I am afraid I will have to endure.

Will I Sew it Again:

Definitely!  I’ve got some ideas and more material aging in storage that needs a purpose.

Advice to Others:

Make sure the yoke fits before attaching skirt by cutting at least a practice muslin of the yoke only.  If you take care of that right off the bat the rest of the skirt should come together for you.

 Overall Style Grade:  A, Different fabric will give you an entirely different look making it a workhorse of a  pattern.

Results Grade: A, I loved it and look forward to making more skirts for spring and experimenting with some winter light woolens.

Next Post: Thursday, April 29, 2010: McCalls 5056 Godet Skirt: Pattern Review

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jamie
    Mar 09, 2013 @ 17:41:45

    Thank you so much for the review and tips, I am hoping to make the smallest size for my 10 and 11 year old it looks like such a flattering skirt just hope that it won’t be to big for them !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

