Vogue 1120 DKNY Dress:Pattern Review

Vogue 1120 DKNY Dress

I bought this pattern last winter and though it is presented in the photo as a New Year’s Party type dress I thought it would make a nice spring dress if a lighter, less glitzy fabric was used.  I also hoped the belt would provide some shaping and the full pleats at the top balance out my full stomach.

   

Pros:

  • The design is simple and the construction process easy to understand.
  • The style is similar to others you see out and about but has its own unique twist.
  • The sewn piece is pretty much spot on the photo.  No surprised.
  • Beginner friendly and easy seaming makes it easy to get a well-finished look.

Cons:

  • The pleating at the top took an hour and that was on the practice muslin where I am a bit less fussy.  I found the pleating repetitive. 
  • Depending on your hips the back may gather fetchingly under the belt as your hips sway back and forth – or it may just bunch up. 

Some Assembly Required:

I do as much flat as I can.  Here is my process for this practice muslin. 

  1. I sewed the back pieces together.
  2. Then I put  putting pleats into everything, back, front and sleeves. 
  3. Next I attached sleeves to front and completed that pleat at the seamline that couldn’t be completed earlier. 
  4. Finally I attached the back to the sleeve and finished that little pleat. 
  5.  After that I sewed up the sides and considered it ready for try on. 

Fabric:

I used on old knit sheet for a practice muslin.  The sheet actually mimicked some knit dresses I has seen in stores so I had high hopes and even made sure I used thread that matched the fabric, something I don’t usually bother with in a practice muslin.

Finetuning:

The waist must fit!  The waist front you can tinker with, but the back has no mercy.    Though it looks as if the belt provides shaping in reality it doesn’t do what a normal waistband would.  Fitting the waist circumference should be no problem.  It is the length you must be careful of. 

If you are shortwaisted, do raise the waist in the spot where you are directed on the pattern.  If you don’t correct that waist you are going to get wrinkles across the back when you cinch the belt.  Raising the waistline will raise the belt up just a bit which is what you need.

If you are longwaisted again, lower the waistline at the place the pattern directs.  If the belt cinches up too high on you, then you will have the opposite problem of your shortwaisted sister (sounds like a band doesn’t it?). There will be bunchy stuff under the belt.

Will I Sew it Again:

I showed it to my husband and after reassuring him that it was practice fabric he commented dubiously that “It looks very Roman.”   Then he brightened up and said, “Maybe you can wear it for a nightgown!”

Vogue 1120 practice muslin

Sooo, I’m not sewing this again and I am moving the pattern on to the thrift store.

Advice to Others:

If you typically do not wear unstructured garments this one might not work for you.  Buy the pattern on sale and make a practice muslin of dirt cheap fabric.  If your figure is more of an hourglass and your waistline has little variation from the norm then you should look well in this design.

Overall Style Grade: A, Awesome, Cute as a Button and Easy to Sew!

Results Grade: C- on my figure type which used to be a pear, but which is now an apple. 

(You never know tomorrow morning I might wake up a peach: )

Next Post: Saturday, April 24, 2010; Tip on Pattern Storage

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marie-Noëlle
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 16:14:21

    I love your sense of humour
    Husbands will be husbands. It is so much fun to read about them reviewing their beloved sewing;

    Reply

  2. Sister
    Apr 22, 2010 @ 17:46:07

    Roman – yes! That wouldn’t work on me with the pear figure – it would emphasize the trunk. Now last night on American Idol Alicia Keys wore the most unflattering dress that reminded me of these waist comments – her waistband was so high then it ballooned out right over her belly and hips and when she walked it was awful! Wish I had a picture to show you…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

