My Daughter has Decided that She Isn’t a Ruffly Girl Anymore.

Should she be allowed to do that! 

All on her own. Without any say-so from her mother.  :-0

Here is a pile of patterns ready to donate to the thrift store that are no longer “her”.  “Those aren’t my style, Mommy.  I’m not a ruffly girl anymore.” 

What is wrong with a little ruffle?

And when did she get old enough to have a style?!

 I am not ready to go from this . . .

         to this. . . .

 

 What am I going to sew her now?  The dresses I made her last autumn to fit her this summer – she won’t wear.  Too ruffly, I suppose.

It also means she is growing up.  I love the family years and already feel nostaglic when I see signs she is no longer my itty-bitty girl.

What is a mother to do?

I guess hit a sale at the fabric store and buy more patterns!  Proof that every cloud has a silver lining. :)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 16:49:11

    Yay – you found the silver lining! My youngest declared that he didn’t want any more homemade shorts – what?! I’ve quit crying long enough to start a jeans purse for my 11-year-old niece!

    Reply

  2. Tanit-Isis
    Jun 15, 2012 @ 19:47:29

    Aww! I think I missed my chance to sew for my girls during the ruffly phase (ah, well, that’s what I have nieces for). If it helps, the “big girl” phase is fun to sew for, too—I do have to make sure we’re all on the same page, though, or it all ends in tears…

    Maybe it’s weird, but I’m always so excited by the next phase my kids are getting into. Every once in a while I get a twinge of nostalgia, but I tell myself at least I don’t have to change diapers any more. :)

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Jun 16, 2012 @ 12:20:09

      You are right – not only were my daughter and I not on the same page, we weren’t even reading the same book! It’s funny. I don’t especially like to sew ruffles, but now that she has officially moved past them – I feel so nostalgic and teary.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

