Getting the Fabric for Free

The price of knit fabric has gone up in my area and the design of many kid knit patterns leans towards the dorky and ill-fitting. (I love you pattern companies – but sorry, it’s true.)  Additionally, children’s patterns are often so oversized that they are unwearable and the contours are not updated to current fashion.   The end product, though well-sewn, can look a little “off” and the kid just won’t wear the garments.  The “off”-ness also screams home-sewn, but not in a good way.

But having some basic knit patterns for kids can be essential.  Kids sleepwear can be as expensive as daywear and I sometimes want to quickly create an easy top or bottom for playtime or to accessorize a more intricate garment. 

That means I need to spend some time customizing some kid knit patterns.  I have chosen these to work with.

Butterick 5510: I am looking at the knit tee and bottom as a source for summer pj’s.

Kwik-Sew 3043: Kwik-Sew usually has such great standard patterns that I actually traced this one hoping to refine a top pattern that I can easily sew in my daughter’s school uniform colors.

Butterick 6659: I have made this before and it is hugely oversized. My daughter who is a 6X can easily wear the size 5. I am looking at making her a few sleeveless nightgowns and using the pants and panties as PJ bottoms.

And I am getting the fabric for free.

From where? 

From here – the great motherload of free fabric.

Our closet.

Summer is such a short season but my family sure runs through the summer clothes.  Between the summer gardening and the summer sweating we manage to grime up quite a bit of our wardrobe each season.   A recent purge of my husband and my closet resulted in the above basket of cast-offs.

I could have thrown them away or made more cleaning cloths, but this year I decided to consider this a source of free material to create practice muslins and summer jim-jams.  With the new baby getting any sewing time has been so hard, but I am hoping that these small projects can be managed.  And if I ruin it, who cares, it was a cast-off tee.

I am looking forward to getting started! :)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 18:14:48

    Great idea – I gotta remember this when I start a baby outfit I’m considering in the next month or so…

    Reply

  2. Janice
    Jul 22, 2012 @ 08:23:58

    For a while now I’ve been using tees to make shorts for my daughter! Don’t forget the local Goodwill store for inexpensive colored tees for shorts. I also have a mountain of old jeans that I want to use. Haven’t figured out how to use them. Love recycling old clothes.

    Reply

    • Sewista Fashionista
      Jul 22, 2012 @ 10:21:47

      I have been looking around my local thrift store as a source of cheap fabric and I can’t wait to be done with my pile of old tees at home so I can go shopping for more. :) Would love to know what to with old jeans myself.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

