Refashioning:Cutting Down a Men’s Polo into a Women’s;Attempt #2

Lately I have been attempting to take RTW tees and polos and cut them down for a better fit.  A few weeks ago I had my first attempt with mixed results.

This is my second attempt.  The results are still mixed.

The original polo before alterations.

The polo began as a men’s XL and as you can see the shirt overwhelms me.

I did take in the shoulder line.  I left the side seams loose since attempt #1 taught me that polo shirt cotton can be somewhat see-through if fitted too closely to the body. Added darts.   I also took off quite a few inches at the hem.

A bit blurry but you can see that it does "fit" after alterations, I just don't like it very much.

I got it to wearable.  I can garden in it.  It is comfortable.  But I stopped any further finessing after that.

I could have taken up the sleeve hem for a more cap-like sleeve but I felt that a small sleeve would look strange with the larger men’s collar and placket.

Actually it is that collar and placket that is making me abandon the whole idea of cutting down a men’s polo.  No matter how well I cut down the shirt I feel that the man-size collar does not flatter my feminine shoulders and neckline.  Even after a dramatic cutback on the hem and a shoulder alteration, I still look like a girl wearing boys’ clothes.

Not the effect I am seeking.

The reason I was using mens’ polos was that plus-size womens’ polos in RTW are often just as oversized.  I thought I might be able to buy mens’ shirts cheaply at the thrift since polos are plentiful in the mens’ section, but there are hardly any in the womens’.   I was reluctant to pay full RTW prices as I am prone to wearing such shirts while doing yard work, etc.

Good try.  Didn’t work out.  My next idea is to find a source of inexpensive womens’ plus-size polos and cut them down instead as they will probably have smaller collars and plackets so at least it will still be a recognizably feminine shirt when I am done. I am going to check out the pattern by Clotidle mentioned by Connie in the last post.

But right now I am taking a break from refashioning as I finish up my spring t-shirts.  Only two more tees to go and I am done with one of my wardrobe categories!

Next Post: Thursday, January 27, 2011: Hopefully an update with photos of how well my spring sewing is going.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tanit-Isis
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 19:11:57

    Well, I’m not a fan of polo shirts at the best of times (though I’m sure they do marvelously for gardening ;) ) but it’s definitely an improvement. I’m pretty sure I’ve seen tutes out there for resizing polo shirts for kids (maybe on Beangirl as she was doing some of that at one point) that included shrinking the collars… Might be more trouble than you want to go to, though. Soldier on! Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Sister
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 19:59:55

    Well I have to say that it looks like a different person in the pics. You have a figure in the second picture! I didn’t notice the collar till you pointed it out.

    Reply

  3. Kimberlee
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 10:02:55

    I wanted to let you know that I referenced your blog here

    http://magpieshinies.blogspot.com/2011/01/i-am-i-am-i-am-superman-and-i-can-do.html

    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

